Trail Camera Survey Results and What They Mean

After the season concluded I put together my entire season inventory of bucks that my neighbor and I collected throughout the season. In a roughly 1.5 square mile area identified approximately 54 unique bucks not counting button bucks. This is the 2nd season I’ve collected such data between the two of us. This year I took it upon myself to produce a buck to doe ratio and important statistics such as mature buck and immature buck numbers. It was my first season attempting this sort of exercise and I found it to be both enlightening and useful to me as a deer manager.

M2E60L171-171R393B312Not long after doing this survey of my own I came across an episode of Midwest Whitetail which explains the results of a post-season deer survey. The episode looking begins into the results of the shed hunt on Bill Winke’s farm. Sadly Bill’s farm is not producing anywhere near the sheds that it used to. It reminded me of a great article Bill wrote about the state of the whitetail herd. After reading this article you’ll have a better idea as to why Bill’s shed numbers are way down. As the episode progress’s Bill and Jeremy Flinn break down the survey results from a trail camera survey that Jeremy conducted on Bill’s Iowa farm. This sort of survey is something that any serious deer manager should consider doing. Here is an additional video Jeremy produced on this topic of post-season deer surveys.

Major Reason’s to Consider Doing a Deer Survey:

  • Understanding the Buck Age Structure on Your Property
  • Identifying Target Bucks for the Season
  • Getting an Idea of Your Buck to Doe Ratio for Your Local Deer Herd
  • Understanding Fawn Recruitment Numbers
  • Knowing Which Deer Use Your Property Year Round Vs. Seasonal Use

Surveys are often conducted prior to and following the deer season. I took the liberty to include both my pre-season and post-season data along with my in-season data to create one master survey. Whatever process works best for you is worth considering. This is a great way to understanding what is going on in your neck of the woods. Not to mention this can be an enjoyable part of studying your deer herd.

 

Leave a Reply

